Cover Reveal: Ryan’s Bed by TIJAN

RYANFINALCOVER

Title: Ryan’s Bed

Author: TIJAN

Genre: YA Romance

Release Date: January 22nd, 2018

Add on Goodreads!

 

blurb

I crawled into Ryan Jensen’s bed that first night by accident.

I barely knew him. I thought it was his sister’s bed—her room. It took seconds to realize my error, and I should’ve left…

I didn’t.
I didn’t jump out.
I didn’t get embarrassed.
I relaxed.
And that night, in that moment, it was the only thing I craved.

I asked to stay. He let me, and I slept.

The truth? I never wanted to leave his bed. If I could’ve stayed forever, I would have.
He became my sanctuary.

Because—four hours earlier—my twin sister killed herself.

 

rah

Advertisements

Saturday Spotlight: An Ex For Christmas by Lauren Layne

ex

Title: An Ex for Christmas

Author: Lauren Layne

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Rating: 4 Stars

Add on Goodreads!

blurb

She’s making a list—and checking it twice. But is there a nice guy among all her naughty exes? The New York Times bestselling author of Blurred Lines returns with a charming friends-to-lovers rom-com.

When a psychic tells spunky, superstitious Kelly Byrne that she’s already met her true love, she becomes obsessed with the idea of tracking him down before Christmas. Kelly immediately writes up an “Ex List” and starts contacting old boyfriends to figure out which one is the one. When her college sweetheart rolls into town, Kelly convinces herself that they’re meant to be. The trouble is, sparks are flying with someone she’s never given a chance: her best friend, Mark.

Mark Blakely has watched the guys on Kelly’s list break her heart, and he’s not looking forward to watching them do it all over again. Mark’s always been there for her, but the timing’s never worked out for their relationship to be something more. Now, just as Mark is ready to move on, the sexual tension between them is suddenly off the charts. With Christmas morning around the corner, he just hopes Kelly will wake up and realize that everything she wants has been right in front of her all along.

 

rah

Cover Reveal: SEX, NOT LOVE by Vi Keeland

SNL_FrontCover

Title: Sex, Not Love

Author: Vi Keeland

Release Date: January 15th, 2018

Add on Goodreads!

 

blurb

My relationship with Hunter Delucia started backwards.
We met at a wedding—him sitting on the groom’s side, me sitting on the bride’s.
Stealing glances at each other throughout the night, there was no denying an
intense, mutual attraction.
I caught the bouquet; he caught the garter. Hunter held me tightly while we
danced and suggested we explore the chemistry sparking between us. His blunt,
dirty mouth should’ve turned me off. But for some crazy reason, it had the
opposite effect on me.
We ended up back in my hotel room. The next morning, I headed home to New
York leaving him behind in California with the wrong number.
I thought about him often, but after my last relationship, I’d sworn off of charming,
cocky, gorgeous-as- sin men. A year later, Hunter and I met again at the birth of
our friends’ baby. Our attraction hadn't dulled one bit. After a whirlwind trip, he
demanded a real phone number this time. So I left him with my mother’s—she
could scare away any man with her talks of babies and marriage—and flew back
home.
I’d thought it was funny, until the following week when he rang the bell at Mom’s
house for Sunday night dinner. The crazy, gorgeous man had won over my
mother and taken an eight-week assignment in my city. He proposed we spend
that time screwing each other out of our systems.
Eight weeks of mind-blowing sex with no strings attached? What did I have to
lose?
Nothing, I thought.
It’s just sex, not love.
But you know what they say about the best laid plans…

 

 

rah

Release Blitz: He Loves Me…KNOT by RC Boldt

REVEAL-COVER-HeLovesMeNot

Title: He Loves Me… KNOT

Author: RC Boldt

Release Date: November 14th, 2017

Add on Goodreads!

blurb

Sometimes love needs a second chance…

I never looked back after skipping out on my own wedding, even if it did leave me estranged from most of my family. Eight years later, I have the life I’ve always wanted. As an advertising account executive, my world is damn near perfect.

Until I come face-to-face with my past. With the man I once loved. The man who holds my future in his hands. The man who’s hell-bent on getting even with me for leaving him at the altar.

Even with all the unfinished business between us, I still love Knox Montgomery. The only problem?

He loves me…KNOT.

 

 

HLMK-Teaser 1

 

Find it at:

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

 

 

rah

Excerpt Reveal: He Loves Me…KNOT by RC Boldt

REVEAL-COVER-HeLovesMeNot

Title: He Loves Me… KNOT

Author: R.C. Boldt

Release Date: November 14th, 2017

Add on Goodreads!

 

blurb

Sometimes love needs a second chance…

I never looked back after skipping out on my own wedding, even if it did leave me estranged from most of my family. Eight years later, I have the life I’ve always wanted. As an advertising account executive, my world is damn near perfect.

Until I come face-to-face with my past. With the man I once loved. The man who holds my future in his hands. The man who’s hell-bent on getting even with me for leaving him at the altar.

Even with all the unfinished business between us, I still love Knox Montgomery. The only problem?

He loves me…KNOT.

 

excerpt

PROLOGUE

EMMA JANE

“BLESS HER HEART.”

This—the quintessential Southern phrase “bless her heart”—is the ultimate kiss of death.

The irony isn’t lost on me since I just avoided my own kiss of death, figuratively speaking. Instead of walking down the aisle, I’m trudging along the Pensacola Beach boardwalk in my wedding dress.

Alone.

With tear-stained cheeks.

Two elderly women peer at me, blatant curiosity etched across their features, and one turns to the other to hiss, “I wonder if the groom left her.”

“Would you blame him?” the other woman responds, disdain dripping from her tone. “She’s got a”—she utters the next words much like they’re absolutely scandalous—“nose piercing.”

The dark glare I direct at them is concealed by my sunglasses, so with a dismissive huff, I continue plodding along, swiping a hand across my tear-streaked cheeks. Judging by the black smudges on my fingers, my waterproof mascara clearly lied.

Damn jackass mascara.

Damn jackass groom. I’m starting to see a trend here…

The longer I walk, the more stares I get. One little girl in a tutu bathing suit points to the top of my head and squeals with joy, “Look! A princess!”

Damn jackass tiara and veil my mother insisted I wear.

I march over to a large trash bin and—without any finesse whatsoever—begin tugging the pins holding this awful tiara-veil combo in place. As I’m attempting to remove it, agitation takes over due to my sad lack of progress. I bunch the veil in my fists and give it a firm tug from my elaborate up-do. Bobby pins shoot and ping in various directions, and I distractedly pray no one gets too close and loses an eye. Shoving the obscene length of fabric in the trash, I feel a bit lighter.

The June sun beats down on me as I stand on the stamped cement of the boardwalk, the heat radiating through the soles of my favorite flip-flops. My eyes flutter closed as I inhale a deep breath of the salty Gulf of Mexico air.

God, I love this beach. It’s always been one of my favorites, especially since it takes just under an hour to drive here from Mobile. The water is a gorgeous shade of blue-green, and the sand is perfectly white and free of pesky shells. Any other time, I’d be kicking off my flip-flops and running toward the surf. Now, though, I have different priorities: a stiff drink. Or ten.

Or twenty.

The challenge is finding a place where I might not draw attention—er, as much attention. I slowly survey the nearby choices of bars and restaurants lined up along the boardwalk; I scan and dismiss them one by one.

“No…no…no…n—”

Wait a minute.

One particular sign snags my eye. It has an outline of two men standing back to back, their forms filled with a swirl of rainbows and the name Be-Bob’s written in script-like font beneath it.

A gay bar.

Perfect.

With my key ring clipped to my small wristlet, I stalk over to the bar, doing my best to ignore the startled looks and gawking from other beachgoers. Tugging open the heavy door, I step over the threshold and into the brisk air conditioning.

Into a place where I might find slightly more acceptance.

I slide my sunglasses to rest atop my head and take a moment to allow my eyes to adjust to the dimmer light. There are only about eight people scattered about, chatting over drinks. When I don’t earn more than a brief glance before they return to their own conversations, I breathe my first sigh of relief. Most of the patrons are likely indulging in the great weather and enjoying a Saturday at the beach, not looking for refuge and hiding out like I am.

I scan the framed photos that adorn the walls featuring local drag queens and scantily clad male models before striding over to the bar. I hoist myself up onto a worn leather bar stool, and catch the eye of the only bartender behind the counter. He appears to be taking inventory of the liquor, if his clipboard is anything to go by.

When he turns around and gets the full visual of me, his expression is priceless, his eyebrows nearly hitting his hairline. I’d laugh if I had it in me, but I’m emotionally spent.

As he regards what’s visible to him from the top of the bar on up to my hair, his light brown eyes soften and the corners of his mouth tip up slightly. Without batting an eye, he reaches below the counter and produces a wet wipe. I gratefully accept it and he rests his forearms upon the lacquered surface, regarding me with interest as I rid my cheeks of the dark mascara streaks.

The bartender waits until I’m finished and then accepts the wipe from me before tossing it into the trash.

“Well, I can’t say I’ve ever served a runaway bride before.” My makeup-fail savior appears to gauge me, as if expecting me to burst into a river of tears.

Funny enough, the drive here has expended me of those and I’m firmly entrenched in the anger stage of my fiancé’s betrayal.

I prop an elbow on the bar, rest my chin on my palm, and offer what I know is the weakest excuse for a smile. “There’s a first time for everything, right?”

He doesn’t immediately answer, eyeing me curiously until his lips stretch into an easy smile. His eyes do that little crinkly thing at the corners and he has what I call “kind eyes.”

Then again, I remind myself, what the hell do I know?

I’m clearly not the best judge of people. That much has become all too evident.

The bartender reaches out a hand. “Casey.”

I grasp his hand, noting his impressive manicure. This guy’s cuticles are better than mine and I love the shade of metallic gray polish on his nails. “Nice to meet you, Casey. I’m Emma Jane.”

He reaches beneath the bar and I hear a clinking as he scoops ice, before he brings a cup into view. Then he works his magic, and pours in a bit of this and that from one bottle to the next. Finally, with flourish—and a maraschino cherry tossed in—he slides the plastic cup across the smooth surface.

“It’s my special, secret mix. I call it”—he leans in toward me and lowers his voice, his eyes dancing with mischief—“the Panty Dropper.”

One of my brows arches as I stare back at him with dismayed skepticism. “I hardly think I’m a prime panty-dropping candidate right now.”

Casey lifts a shoulder in a half shrug, his eyes flickering over my shoulder before returning to me. His smile grows wider. “You never can tell.”

With a tiny laugh, I shake my head and wrap my lips around the straw to take a sip of the concoction he’s made me. Just as I swallow the sweet drink, I both feel and smell a person sidle up next to me at the bar.

Hell. The reason I came here was because I thought for sure my chances of getting hit on would be slim to none. But, as I glance at him from the corner of my eye, I observe strong, muscled forearms, tanned and sprinkled with dark hair. The scent of him is appealing and masculine, a cologne that doesn’t overpower. Just the sight of those arms alone, however, makes me incredibly wary to see the rest of him.

Casey doesn’t address the newcomer, his focus still on me. “I’m all ears, Emma Jane. Been told I’m a great listener.”

Good Lord. Where do I even start?

Before I can answer, the man speaks up, his deep voice booming. “Are you cheating on me, Case?” He makes what sounds like a gasp of exaggerated indignation. “I can’t believe you’d betray me like this.”

I glance up to see Casey’s expression full of mirth, and he rolls his eyes. “You know better. I’m still waiting on you to switch over.”

A husky laugh greets my ears and it sounds far too male—far too appealing—which is why I refuse to turn and look at the man beside me.

“I might switch if you’d agree to root for my team.”

“Not gonna happen,” Casey scoffs before his gaze meets mine. “Isn’t that drink exactly what the doctor ordered?”

I muster up a smile because he seems like a sweet guy. “It is.” With a start, I realize I haven’t given him my card to pay or at least start a tab. I reach for my wristlet. “What do I owe you?”

He waves me off. “Honey, that one’s on me as long as you promise to dish before we get slammed in a few hours.”

A loud exhale spills past my lips. “It’s a pathetic story, really.”

“Let me guess.” Mr. Forearms’s husky voice is a deep timbre, amusement threaded in his tone. “You caught him with your maid of honor.”

I let out a harsh laugh and fiddle with my straw, using it to move around the ice cubes in my drink. “Nope.” If only it were that simple, I muse internally.

“Caught him with his best man?”

This time, his suggestion drags a lighter sounding laugh from me. “Not even.”

“Well, you know I can’t leave here without hearing the story. I’m intrigued.”

This guy is something else, that’s for sure. His voice is the epitome of sexy, and yet, even with all that’s transpired, I have zero interest.

Finally, I drag my attention from my drink and my eyes travel up those muscled forearms, over the bulging biceps stretching the short sleeves of a dark-blue polo shirt and up to the face that—

My breath catches in my throat as recognition floods me, my eyes widening as I take in the man beside me.

Becket Jones, the quarterback for the NFL team in Jacksonville, Florida. He’s a two-time Heisman Trophy winner from the University of Florida and had been the second overall draft pick by the Jacksonville Jaguars. Adding to that impressive resumé, he’s been recently voted MVP and is also a Lombardi Trophy recipient. His face is in commercials and on billboards everywhere. Living in Mobile, Alabama, and in a state without a pro football team, most of us either gravitate toward the Atlanta Falcons, the New Orleans Saints, or the Jacksonville Jaguars.

I don’t follow NFL as closely as college football, but I’d have to live under a rock to not recognize Becket and his pretty-boy face. Even beneath the brim of the ball cap, which curls under at the edges and draws shadows over his eyes, I’d recognize that wide charming smile of his anywhere. He’s slouching against the bar but I know he pushes well over six feet.

His features cloud as he observes my response, his large hand reaching up to tug his cap lower. “Please don’t tell me you’re going to sell some seedy story about seeing me in a gay bar to a stupid gossip rag.”

“Of course not. I’m just…” I falter for a moment, “surprised.”

His chin lifts, gesturing to a couple of guys standing nearby a jukebox, laughing and talking. One of them is wearing a shirt with bright pink flamingos printed on it, along with a yellow feather boa draped around his neck.

“I’m with my brother, Brantley—the one who insisted on that crazy getup—and his roommate, Vonn, whose birthday we’re celebrating.” His eyes flicker to them briefly, obvious affection in his gaze, before returning to me. “I drove in from Jacksonville late last night to join them.”

I nod politely, not sure what to say. “Well, I hope you guys have a great night.” I turn back to my drink and studiously take another sip of the dangerous concoction while acknowledging Casey and Becket’s attention is fixed on me with unfettered curiosity. This drink is deliciously sweet and I know it’s masking the copious amount of liquor Casey put in it. And I can’t get hammered. I should—and I really want to—but I can’t. I have bigger fish to fry.

Like figuring out my freaking life.

With a long sigh, I unzip my wristlet and withdraw my cell phone—whose ring had been silenced—to face the “music” I know is about to blare at me.

Let this be noted as mistake number one. Because I’m certain my phone is going to overheat from the number of text messages and missed calls I’ve received already. Mainly, the ones from my father.

Dad: You’d better get back here now, young lady.

I continue scrolling past all of his other messages until I get to the last one, time stamped from about five minutes ago.

Dad: Consider yourself disowned. Don’t even think of coming back to this house after the way you’ve embarrassed everyone.

Huh. Well, thank heavens I’d already thought of that and had made a quick stop at the house before driving here. I’d scooped up the items I’d need most, knowing my father’s reaction would be extreme. Maybe I was delusional, but I’d hoped it wouldn’t come to this.

Just as I’m about to place my phone back in my wristlet and avoid the remainder of the painful messages sure to come, another one comes in.

Dad: Forget your job at the magazine. It’s done. You’re done. You did this, Emma Jane.

My chest tightens and my stomach churns sickly. I knew it was coming but it doesn’t make it any less devastating. I’d worked my ass off for Southern Charm Lifestyle magazine at their new location in Mobile. I know I have the potential to rise up in the ranks.

But now it’s gone. Poof. All because of my father. The one and only Davis Haywood, city councilman, owner of the local newspaper and the city’s largest magazine, and commercial developer galore. He has the money and power to make things happen in Mobile.

I just never thought he’d use that money and power against his own daughter one day.

“So.” Becket startles me, so caught up in my own drama-filled thoughts. “You might not know this about me, but I was brought up to be a gentleman.”

I regard him warily, unsure where he’s going with this. “O-kay,” I drag out the word slowly.

“This means I can’t leave you sitting at this bar, staring down at your phone, looking like your puppy just died.”

I shoot him a hard glare that would normally cause people to rear back…but then I recall that this man faces the risk of being tackled by two-hundred-plus-pound men on any given game day.

So, as much as my dangerously narrowed eyes might flare with the “Don’t even go there” vibe, my glare does nothing.

He looks around first before slipping his ball cap around on his head, the brim now at the back. And honestly, on any other grown man, it would look juvenile. On Becket Jones, however, it actually looks cute.

Casey slides a bottle of water to him, which Becket uncaps before downing half of it. Resting his arms on the bar, he playfully nudges me with his shoulder.

“Go ahead. Spill.”

Exhaling loudly, I peer up at him skeptically. “You really want—”

“To hear all the sordid details?” He grins at me, nearly blinding me with his pearly white teeth. “Absolutely.”

Shaking my head at him, I take another sip of my drink and toy with my straw, making the ice cubes clink together within my cup. “Fine. But don’t you dare give me a bless your heart that’s chock-full of pity.”

“Deal.”

Letting a long sigh loose, I answer, my voice muted and laced with pain. And I hate the way it sounds.

“I’m running from a man who doesn’t really love me.”

 

HLMK-Teaser 1

 

rah

 

Cover Reveal: MAN HANDS by Sarina Bowen & Tonya Eby!

ManHands_finalcolor

Title: Man Hands

Authors: Sarina Bowen & Tonya Eby

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Release Date: December 11th, 2017

Add to Goodreads!

 

blurb

BRYNN

At thirty-four, I’m reeling from a divorce. I don’t want to party or try to move on. I just want to stay home and post a new recipe on my blog: Brynn’s Dips and Balls.

But my friends aren’t having it. Get out there again, they say. It will be fun, they say. I’m still taking a hard pass.

Free designer cocktails, they say. And that’s a game-changer.

Too bad my ex shows up with his new arm candy. That’s when I lose my mind. But when my besties dare me to leap on the first single man I see, they don’t expect me to actually go through with it.

TOM

All I need right now is some peace and quiet while my home renovation TV show is on hiatus. But when a curvy woman in a red wrap dress charges me like she’s a gymnast about to mount my high bar, all I can do is brace myself and catch her. What follows is the hottest experience of my adult life.

I want a repeat, but my flying Cinderella disappears immediately afterward. She doesn’t leave a glass slipper, either—just a pair of panties with chocolate bunnies printed on them.

But I will find her.

 

AdobeStock_92316030

 

 

rah

ARC Review: Saving It by Monica Murphy

SavingIt_500

Title: Saving It

Author: Monica Murphy

Genre: YA Romance

Rating: 3.75 Stars

Release Date: November 6th, 2017

Add on Goodreads!

 

blurb

Eden: Josh Evans and I have been best friends forever. He knows all my secrets, and I know all of his. So when he randomly asks me to help him lose his virginity, I sort of flip out. That’s a question that sends your mind to places you’ve seriously never considered before. Like, you know. Having sex. With your best friend. Except Josh doesn’t want to have sex with me—he wants me to help him find a girl. A nice girl who’s funny and smart and cute. Except he already knows a girl just like that…

Josh: Eden Sumner is my best friend. So of course she’d be the person to help me find my perfect match, so I can drop my V card before I head off to college. Except the more we search, the more I realize that maybe the right girl has been by my side all along. I don’t need Eden’s help in finding me a girl to love. I’m pretty sure I’m already in love with Eden. But now she thinks I’m only after one thing…with anyone but her.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book is what happens when American Pie meets Friends with Benefits. It contains two best friends, plenty of angst, and lots and lots of sex talk. Reading this might have you looking at your best friend in a different light!

 

review

Okay, I’m a huge sucker for best-friends to lovers tropes, so I was super excited when I read about this plot. Especially with Monica Murphy being the author. Saving It was sweet, funny, charming and low on the angst.  The type of book that makes you smile and gives an insta case of nostalgia.

One of my favorite things about this book was that it was sex positive, which isn’t always the case with books aimed for the YA crowd. I think the way Murphy handled the topic was perfection!

Both Josh and Eden were well-written. The friendship between the two felt authentic and when things start to blossom between the two it was extremely natural. I enjoyed how she portrayed the confusion, nerves and emotions that start to take over them as they discover their feelings for each other. I just wish there was a little more umph to it.

I particularly enjoyed Josh’s POV, as he had a really strong voice and personality to his character. I really feel that Murphy is a genius when it comes to writing from the male point of view.

I also like Eden’s character- she was both beautiful and intelligent, and had more on her mind other than boys- but I felt like something was lacking with her character. I just didn’t connect to her on the same level I did with Josh.

Being a YA book, there were some parts that were a little corny or OTT, but nothing too terribly that it too away from the book. I personally felt the characters were on the more mature side- they really felt like authentic teenagers. Not only in the way they spoke, but the inner dialogue as well.

It was close to a 4 star read, except for at times it felt a little slow and didn’t hold my complete attention. That might not be the case with a younger reader though. 😉 It was pretty predictable, but I didn’t mind as well, as their journey was original.

All in all this was an adorable story of two best-friends who discover they might be a whole lot more than that.

 

6 every time

Find Saving It:

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

 

rah

 

 

Cover Reveal: HOT & HEAVY by Elle Kennedy (reissue)

Hot-&-Heavy-Ebook

Title: HOT AND HEAVY

Author: Elle Kennedy

Re-release Date: November 6th, 2017

 

When a SEAL goes after your heart, don’t put up a fight. They don’t like to lose.

Heat It Up

One minute broody SEAL Becker is responding hell no to a pesky reporter’s interview request. The next, he’s trapped in an elevator and calming Jane’s confined-space panic attack—with a kiss. Once he caves in to the fierce, unexpected need, there’s no turning back. Beck’s not looking for long-term, but a fling with a redhead with a brutally honest mouth and a body made for sin? Abso-effing-lutely…

Heat of the Night

When her long-time fiancé breaks off their engagement, Annabelle sets out to prove she’s not a prude. Only problem is, her list of sexual fantasies winds up in the wrong hands, and now she’s got a sinfully sexy SEAL offering to help check off every last wild and wicked item. Resisting Ryan is futile, but protecting her heart? It’s necessary…

The Heat is On

Matt thinks he’s a bad boy…until he finds himself face down on the floor during a bank robbery, arguing with a sexy blonde who wields her sharp tongue with surgical precision. Savannah eagerly follows the adrenaline rush she feels with Matt to the nearest bed, but when tangled sheets begin to feel like tangled heartstrings, commitment shy Savannah’s first instinct is to cut him loose. Problem is, Matt’s not going anywhere…

Warning: Contains feisty heroines, threesomes, and dangerously hot navy SEALs that give the phrase “going commando” a whole new meaning.

 

rah

Release Blitz: MISS FIX IT by Emma Hart

MISSFIXITebook (1)

Title: MISS FIX IT

Author: Emma Hart

Release Date: October 31st, 2017

Add on Goodreads!

 

blurb

One handywoman.
One single dad.
One set of twins.


And the wall isn’t the only thing being drilled…
I learned the hard way that being a handywoman isn’t easy. The questions, the stares—the assumption I’m the proud owner of a cock and balls. Not that it matters. I’ve proven over and over that I’m ready for anything the judgmental asses throw at me.
Except the hot, single dad of twins who just moved to town.


Brantley Cooper gets the shock of his life when I show up on his doorstep to fix up his kids’ new rooms. His son is confused why ‘the pretty lady has a drill,’ and his daughter has a new obsession—me.


On paper, my job is easy. Go in, do their bedrooms, and leave.
In theory, I’m spending eight hours a day with a guarded, sexy as hell guy, and I’m staying for dinner more often than I’m eating it alone, on my couch, with Friends re-runs.


I shouldn’t be staying for dinner. I shouldn’t be helping him out with the twins. I shouldn’t be falling in love with tiny toes and dimpled cheeks.
And I most definitely should not be kissing my client.


Oops…

 

 

excerpt

“Deal with it,” I echoed, my mouth dry. “What exactly do you mean by that?”
He glanced at my mouth.
“Okay, but, um, here’s the thing.” I couldn’t breathe. I sounded like a panting idiot trying to get the words out between each short, sharp breath I took. “This,” I motioned between us, “is bad.”
“Bad.” His lips tugged to the side.
“Yes. Because,”—help. Someone help—“because this isn’t allowed. Company rules. No cavorting with clients.”
“No cavorting with clients.” That half-smile turned into a full-blown grin. “That’s very…proper.”
“Well, I can’t exactly put, “No sleeping with the clients” now, can I?”
“You could have, but it would have been unfortunately precise.”
“I should change that.”
“I disagree.”
I licked my lips. “You should agree. Because this is—”
“Bad. You said.” More lip twitching.
“I thought you were sorry you made it awkward by kissing me.”
“That was before I found out you were attracted to me. Now, I’m a lot less sorry I kissed you.”
Oh. Well. Fair enough.
“Should I take back my acceptance of your apology?” I asked.
“You should stop talking and see how you feel when I’ve kissed you again.”

 

Find MISS FIX IT

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

 

 

rah

 

 

ARC Review & Release Day Blitz: THE FORTUNATE ONES by R.S. Grey

TFOebookcover

Title: THE FORTUNATE ONES

Author: R.S. Grey

Genre: Romance

Rating: 4.5 Stars

All The Feels: 5+ Stars

Release Date: November 1st, 2017

Add on Goodreads! Find On Amazon!

 

blurb

At Twin Oaks Country Club, there are the fortunate ones, and then there are the rest of us: the waiters, the caddies, the valets, and in my case, the cabana girls. Most days, I’m poolside in a pleated skirt, dishing out margaritas to tycoons and titans. It’s not exactly my dream job, but it does come with one perk…

James Ashwood.

He’s my silver lining in a custom black suit.

Besides being a legacy member at the club, he’s a tech mogul and Austin’s most eligible bachelor. Oh, and those dimples? Yeah, they make my stomach dip too.

On good days, I catch his sleek Porsche winding down the tree-lined drive. On better days, I steal a glimpse of his handsome profile as we pass in the hall. And on the absolute best day, I find him alone at the bar, looking for company.

“Come have a seat.”

Those four little words set me down a path I never could have imagined. Private planes, penthouse suites, and temptations around every corner make it impossible to keep my distance. His world feels decadent and wild—but overindulgence comes with a cost. Every kiss comes with strings. Every erotic encounter is a promise I’m not ready to keep.

When I pump the brakes, he hits the gas. James doesn’t want to go slow—he wants a commitment.

And the thing about the fortunate ones?

They’re used to getting what they want.

 

excerpt

“I missed you today,” he says, his heated gaze lingering on my body.

I step back, and he follows.

He looks like he’s cornering his prey.

“Apparently not enough to make it to dinner,” I point out icily.

“I called the restaurant and told them I’d be late. Didn’t they tell you?”

I cross my arms and glance away.

“Brooke.” He steps closer and gently lifts my chin, forcing me to look back at him. “Fight with me tomorrow.”

I narrow my eyes, angry with him for shelving this discussion so casually. To him, it doesn’t matter that I sat in that restaurant alone, looking like a fool for nearly two hours. He’s brushing off my anger, stepping closer and forcing his way past my defenses.

“I think I’d like to talk about it now.”

I catch the beginning of a smirk just before he leans in to kiss my cheek.

“Are you sure there isn’t anything you’d rather be doing right now?”

He uncrosses my arms and brings them up over his shoulders then steps closer, towering over me. My arms tighten around his neck, but still, I turn away, keeping my mouth from him. His breath hits my neck and he pulls me taut against his hard body, growing more impatient with every moment I try to resist.

“Brooke,” he whispers huskily.

My eyes flutter closed as he bends and presses a kiss to my cheek, my chin, then lower, tipping my head back so he can reach the smooth recess at the nape of my neck. I shiver and he groans, obviously aware of what his touch is doing to me.

 

review

R.S. Grey is one of those authors that deliver every single time. No matter how much I build it up in my head- which I always do- she somehow manages to make it better than anything I was expecting. THE FORTUNATE ONES was no different. Sexy, witty, romantic, angsty and full of charm, this may be my favorite one yet! One heck of an emotional roller-coaster!

Brooke Davenport spends her days working as a cabana girl at the luxurious country club. It’s not her dream job, but at least it’s income while she tries to find a job as an au pair.  There she meets James Ashwood- sexy, charming, confident, and pretty irresistible. There is this instant attraction and connection between the two of them, even though they are opposites in a lot of ways. The more time they spend together, the fire between them gets stronger and stronger and it starts to feel like the real thing.

Only thing is, James is 11 years older than her. He is successful, experienced and is ready to settle down. Brooke likes the idea of HEA, but she isn’t there yet. There is so much she wants to do, so many places she wants to travel. And while she wants James, there are other things she wants in life too. This is the perfect example of “is love enough?’.

First of all, I loved Brooke. She was strong willed and independent. A hard worker and a dreamer. She wasn’t about finding her true love, she was about making her dreams come true.

James was cocky, intelligent and unexpectedly romantic and sensitive. He knows what he wants, and what he wants is Brooke.

Their romance is addictive. It’s a bit of a slow burn, filled with sexual tension, heart felt moments, swoony gestures and steamy encounters. It’s heart breaking and raw at times. It felt so damn realistic.

I loved how R.S. Grey approached this conflict of them being at different points in their lives. It couldn’t been so predictable, but she allowed Brooke to live her dreams and grow as a person. Don’t get me wrong, my heart was aching at their time away from each other, but wow, I loved how it changed Brooke. It made their HEA even more amazing.

You have to read this book!! You will not be sorry! Just be ready for a heck of a ride!

 

rah