ARC Review: THE FOXE AND THE HOUND by R.S. Grey

TheFoxe&TheHoundEbookCover

Title: THE FOXE AND THE HOUND

Author: R.S. Grey

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Heat Rating: 4 stars

All The Feels Rating: 5+++ Stars

Release Date: June 1st, 2017

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

blurb

When your life is a hot mess at twenty, it’s cute. At twenty-seven…well, not so much.

It’s just that my lofty dreams—making it as a real estate agent, paying rent on time, showering daily—have stayed just that: dreams. Oh, and love? I’ve decided love might be a little ambitious for me at the moment. Instead, I’ve settled for the two guys who will never leave me: Ben & Jerry.

That is, until Dr. Adam Foxe takes up residence as the town’s new vet.

With his strong jaw, easy confidence, and form-fitting scrubs, it’s not long before every housewife in Hamilton is dragging neglected tomcats in for weekly checkups.

Like everyone else, I’m intrigued. Even after I spoil my chance at a good first impression, he still offers me a proposition I can’t refuse: play his girlfriend at a family function and he’ll hire me as his real estate agent. Welcome to love in the 21st century.

It’s too bad I underestimated Adam’s irresistible charm and the undeniable attraction that burns between us. The day he pins me to the wall and silences me with a kiss, the line between reality and ruse begins to blur. Every teasing touch brings me to my knees. Every kiss promises more.

It looks like my hot mess of a life is about to get a little hotter.

 

review

What do you get when you have one sexy, charming vet and one klutzy, determined woman with a side of a dog that is too big, too friendly, and doesn’t know the meaning of no? All the makings for a perfect read. THE FOXE AND THE HOUND by R.S. Grey is filled with witty banter, sizzling chemistry, and a dog that sounds cute, I’m mad I don’t get to pet him. Yeah, that’s right Grey, I have some beef with you about that! 😛

R.S. Grey is one of my favorite authors, and my go to for the best Rom Coms. So effortlessly. If you haven’t read any of her books, you need to change that ASAP. Seriously. THE FOXE AND THE HOUND is the definition of a true feel good read. Not only is it hilarious (I lost count of how many times I laughed out loud), but it also made me grin like a fool, swoon, and tugged on the heart strings a little bit.

Madeleine Thatcher is down on her luck. She’s single, not doing well as a realtor, and adopted a puppy, Mouse, that seems to gain 15lbs a night. But at least Mouse behaviors amazingly…. yeah, one could wish! Mouse acts like the puppy he is, while looking nothing like a puppy. What else could go wrong?

How about a muddy run in with the new vet, Adam Foxe? (Thanks Mouse, sigh). Adam is sexy, moody, and has a thought or two on how Madeleine is training Mouse. The two clash -cue some of the best banter. Then when Adam needs a favor he turns to Madeleine for help. So what if he needs her to pretend to be his girlfriend, it’s not like things about to get interesting…. right?

You first meet Madeleine Thatcher in Anything You Can Do as the little sister of the hero, and best friend of the heroine. I adored her character in that book so I was super excited when she was getting her own book. (THE FOX AND THE HOUND can be read as a standalone!) She didn’t disappoint staring in her own book. She’s not where she wants to be at 27, a feeling many of us can relate to, regardless of age. She’s sweet, caring, loyal and strong. I love that she’s spunky and trips over her own feet.

And Adam, sigh. He is so swoony! He starts off kind of tough, but I love seeing his softer side come through. And the two of them together? Wowza. Talk about chemistry. They bicker and push each other and have enough sexual tension that you can feel it in the pages. If you want a book that delivers all the feels, yep, this is it!

This book is also filled with great secondary characters. Some new, and some we’ve met before. 😉 Mouse really finds a way to your heart.

THE FOX AND THE HOUND is the perfect summer read: tho you may need to jump in the pool to cool off after! 😉 I can’t wait for what’s next from R.S. Grey!!!!

Order on Amazon!

Add on Goodreads!

rah

Leave a Reply

