ARC Review: Confessions of a Carpool Captive by Dawn L. Chiletz

Cover

Title: Confessions of a Carpool Captive

Author: Dawn L. Chiletz

Genres: Romantic Comedy

Rating: 4 Stars

Heat Rating: 3.5 Stars

All The Feels: 4+ Stars

Release Date: March 24th, 2017

Find on Goodreads!

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

blurb

My name is Liz Foley. I love my accounting job because I’d rather deal with numbers than talk to people.

My best traits:
I have (RBF) Resting Bitch Face.
I give snarky come-backs.
I have no friends.

My worst traits:
I speak in run-on sentences when I get nervous.
I’m attracted to assholes.
I’m broke.

Enter Finnigan Walsh – the new guy at work.

His best traits:
He’s kind of hot, I suppose.
He has a working car.
He sings to me and brings me coffee.
Nothing ever gets to him, even when I add more people to our carpool.

His worst traits:
See above

I don’t like him. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself.
After all, it’s not about how fast you get there. It’s the journey. Right?
Damn this carpool.

You’d better buckle up.

 

review

This is my third book by Dawn L. Chiletz, and one of the things I love about her is how different each of those books are. It takes talent to be able to switch up genres like that, while keeping your writing voice strong. If you haven’t read any of her books yet, you should change that! I would have to say she is one of the most creative writers,  is amazing at storytelling and the master at throwing in the unexpected.

Liz Foley is witty, full of dry humor and loves to keep to herself. She’s not shy, she just doesn’t feel like dealing with people. Unfortunately for Liz, her co-worker, Finnigan Walsh- or Finn- is the complete opposite. He’s outgoing, charming and loves to be around people. The two cross paths in a big laugh out loud moment. And even though Liz would very much like for that to be the end of their communicating, Finn, and fate, have other plans.

Even though the two are clearly as different as night and day, thanks to carpooling, the two form a very quirky friendship. Which leads to an oh so delicious slow burn romance. Finn will make your heart melt. He is so caring and seems to understand Liz more than she does at times. He is the type that says the right things, does the right things, and all for the right reasons. I love how there is also more to him than meets the eye.

Liz is a nut. In the way she has a hard shell to crack. Liz has flaws, but man, she has one journey through this book. Her life is truly like a roller-coaster.

Their unexpected friendship is filled with sexual tension, fun banter, and heart to heart moments. It’s sweet and feels real. The chemistry between them feels natural, and the progression of their relationship flows perfectly.

In addition to those two, there are several side characters that are amazing. Side characters are always fun, but these ones really bring the book to life. Not to mention are hilarious. I don’t want to give too much away, so I won’t say much more on them!

Confessions of a Carpool Captive is light, fun and romantic. It feels like a super fast read, probably because of how captive it held me. Pun intended. 😛

I know at times it’s a little scary reading a new author. And I know that Dawn L. Chiletz may be new to you, but you won’t regret checking out her work. You will most likely end up with a new fave author!

 

Find Confessions of a Carpool Captive exclusively on Amazon!

ATAs

Dawn L. Chiletz is the author of The Contest, Waiting to Lose, Enough, Can’t You See, The Fabulist and Confessions of a Carpool Captive.

“Sarcasm and humor are my favorite tools. I write whatever I’m feeling. Sometimes that means a romance, a mystery, a thriller, or a tear-jerker. I like giving everything a little twist and I try to stay original. I hope people like not knowing what to expect from me. I never know what I’ll write next either.”

Dawn currently resides in Illinois with her husband, two boys, and three dogs. When she’s not binge writing or reading, you’ll most likely find her on Facebook or playing taxi driver to her kids.

Facebook | Website | Goodreads

rah

Leave a Reply

