ARC Review: The Room Mate by Kendall Ryan

rmm

Title: The Room Mate

Author: Kendall Ryan

Genre: Romance

Rating: 4 Stars

Heat Rating: 4 Stars

All The Feels: 3.5 Stars

Release Date: January 24th, 2016

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

 

blurb

The last time I saw my best friend’s younger brother, he was a geek wearing braces. But when Cannon shows up to crash in my spare room, I get a swift reality check.

Now twenty-four, he’s broad shouldered and masculine, and so sinfully sexy, I want to climb him like the jungle gyms we used to enjoy. At six-foot- something with lean muscles hiding under his T-shirt, a deep sexy voice, and full lips that pull into a smirk when he studies me, he’s pure temptation.

Fresh out of a messy breakup, he doesn’t want any entanglements. But I can resist, right?

I’m holding strong until the third night of our new arrangement when we get drunk and he confesses his biggest secret of all: he’s cursed when it comes to sex. Apparently he’s a god in bed, and women instantly fall in love with him.

I’m calling bullshit. In fact, I’m going to prove him wrong, and if I rack up a few much-needed orgasms in the process, all the better.

There’s no way I’m going to fall in love with Cannon. But once we start…I realize betting
against him may have been the biggest mistake of my life.

review

This is one of those books that I have to admit I judge by the cover. Cause, holy hottness, right?! The blurb only added my desire to read it, and I started reading it the second it arrived on my kindle.

I loved the fact that it was a slight twist on the old best friend’s sibling troupe- where the hero is younger than the heroine. It made the plot that has been done many, many times seem new and fresh.

Cannon was great book boyfriend material. He was sarcastic, sexy, charming and most importantly, a really good friend to Paige. He’s also confident, slightly cocky and extremely intelligent.

So it’s no wonder from the second he shows up at Paige‘s door, there is some major sexual tension between the two of them. It’s a total off limits situation- He’s her best friend’s little brother, he doesn’t want a relationship, and oh yeah, they live together. Oh course, they can only resist each other for so long, before they end up in bed together, and things get majorly complicated.

I love the friendship the two have, and how it turns into much more. It felt real and the emotions and mishaps they go through felt authentic. I loved Cannon’s character and Paige was fun to read about as well. The writing was great and the book was filled with moments that made me laugh, swoon, and blush.

My only complaints was that the build up to them being together was really short lived. It’s not insta sex, but close. I was kinda disappointed looking forward to a lot of sexual tension but there wasn’t as much as I was hoping. I also felt annoyed by Allie– the best-friend/sister. Going into details will give too much away, but I thought she was a little too over protective of Cannon. That might have been done of purpose, but I felt annoyed by her most of the time she was present.

All in all this was a fun, sweet and steamy book. 🙂

Find The Room Mate:

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo | Goodreads

rah

Leave a Reply

