Twisted Palace by Erin Watt

tp

Title: Twisted Palace

Series: Book 3 in the Royals Series (#1 Paper Princess and #2 Broken Prince)

Author: Erin Watt

Genre: YA/NA Romance

Rating: 5 (can I give it 6?) Stars

Heat Rating: 3 Stars

All The Feels: 5+++ Stars

Release Date: October 17, 2016

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

 

blurb

These Royals will ruin you…

From mortal enemies to unexpected allies, two teenagers try to protect everything that matters most.

Ella Harper has met every challenge that life has thrown her way. She’s tough, resilient, and willing to do whatever it takes to defend the people she loves, but the challenge of a long-lost father and a boyfriend whose life is on the line might be too much for even Ella to overcome.

Reed Royal has a quick temper and even faster fists. But his tendency to meet every obstacle with violence has finally caught up with him. If he wants to save himself and the girl he loves, he’ll need to rise above his tortured past and tarnished reputation.

No one believes Ella can survive the Royals. Everyone is sure Reed will destroy them all.
They may be right.

With everything and everyone conspiring to keep them apart, Ella and Reed must find a way to beat the law, save their families, and unravel all the secrets in their Twisted Palace.

divide

*Before I start, I just wanted to clear up that while this review has NO spoilers from Twisted Palace, it does contain some spoilers from Paper Princess and Broken Prince. If you haven’t read those books yet, you might not want to read this review! 🙂 *

review

When the ARC of this baby popped up on my kindle, I have to admit I started screaming and dancing around my living room. That was followed up by the heart-pounding, palm sweating, butterflies in the stomach feeling- all before I even started reading- because holy crap, I was about to finish The Royals series. If you are thinking that is a bit over the top, clearly you haven’t been #royallyruined.

These books are dramalicious, shut the front door fantastic, soul-crushing, and the cause of several emotional breakdowns. There are so many things I love about this book, this series, that it’s almost unfair. From the characters (the ones that grow on you, the ones  you love right away, the ones hate to love, and of course, the ones you love to hate), to the impeccable writing, to the twists and turns that leave you saying WTF.

I am going to be extremely vague with this review, because I truly believe this book should be something you get to experience all on your own, but I will still go over a few things.

Okay, so Twisted Palace starts off right where Broken Prince left off, which involved not one, but THREE plot twists/cliff hangers. Brooke has been murdered, Reed just got arrested for said murder, and oh yeah, Steve shows up at the front door. Steve- Ella’s dad and Callum’s best friend, the man that is supposed to be dead.

So it’s pretty safe to say that in the beginning of this book, the characters are going through a lot, and that theme continues throughout the book. In my opinion, Twisted Palace is definitely the most suspenseful book out of the three. At times my hands were shaky, my heart was pounding out of my chest, and my stomach turned into a butterfly conservatory.

Looking back at Paper Princess, it’s amazing to see how much the characters have grown, particularly Reed. He started off as a complete asshole, and ended up being pretty damn swoon worthy. And okay, let’s be honest, he’s still somewhat an asshole, but that is the charm of Reed. 🙂

While all the characters go through so much in this book, Reed and Ella really go to hell and back. Even though they are young, the bond and love they have with each other is really special. Erin Watt has blown me away with the amount of chemistry, heat and passion between Reed and Ella. Nothing between them is easy, but yet, they are perfect.

And far as Ella goes- I just love her. Seriously. I love that she is equally beautiful and intelligent. Strong yet vulnerable. Guarded but has a huge heart. I think the best thing that Erin Watt did with Ella is even though she is wise and mature past her years, at times in each book she has moments where she acts her age- seventeen.

Like the first two books, there are a lot of surprises in this book. Things I saw coming and things that completely blind sided me. Thankfully, we do get some answers and- small spoiler alert- this book does not end in a cliff hanger. 😛

I am pretty bummed the Royal journey has come to a end. There is talk Easton will be getting a book though, so I am holding on to hope for that. These Royals have truly torn me apart and slowly put me together as this series has gone along. I can’t remember ever being this obsessed with a series.

I know this review doesn’t have nearly as many details as my others, but trust me when I say you will thank me for it. You need to get this book and just savor ever sweet, torturous moment of it. And if you are reading this and haven’t started this series? What in the world are you waiting for?!

Find Twisted Palace

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Goodreads

(Please note that there is no e-book preorder on Amazon, but will be there once it is live)

Leave a Reply

