Falling Slowly by Shirl Rickman

fs

Title: Falling Slowly

Series: Book 1 in the Falling Novella Series

Author: Shirl Rickman

Genre: Contemporary/NA Romance

Rating: 4 Stars

Heat Rating: 3 Stars

All The Feels: 4 Stars

Release Date: October 6, 2016

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

blurb

Plain. Scattered. Klutzy. Naïve.

These are just a few ways people describe pretty but ordinary Rosie Fisher, and she’s okay with that. With her dull, mundane—sometimes messy—life.
It suits her.

Or so she thought…

Laid-back. Playboy. Charming.

These are just a few ways people describe handsome and charismatic Drew Nallen; he thrives on attention—especially from women—but likes his orderly, controlled life.
It suits him just fine.

Rosie. Drew. One accidental encounter and these two opposites are sharing more than a new friendship. They strike a life-changing deal, and what happens next?

It surprises them both.

excerpt

A silence lingers between us. He studies me, his eyes never leaving my face.

“Are you sure? No strings. No commitment,” he states. The tone of his voice is telling me he wants to be firm in the stipulations of this arrangement I’m asking him to enter into with me.

Nodding, I repeat his words, “No strings. No commitments.”

Drew gives me a slight nod and abruptly stands, holding his hand out to me.

As I take it, he jerks me up and into his embrace. I want to look around to see if anyone is watching us, but I can’t take my eyes from his, and for one brief second, his gaze searches mine. Before I know what is happening, his lips are firmly against mine, coaxing my tight mouth to soften, and they do so without much effort. Drew Nallen is kissing me in the middle of the bar, and I’m kissing him back. I can feel his warmth. His control. I can feel my surrender, and it feels better than I could’ve imagined. Although intense, the kiss is short.

Drew pulls back, and when I open my eyes, he’s staring at me with a surprised haze clouding his regard, then, as usual, his dimple appears on one side, and my insides melt.

“I’m sorry, but I think the pleasure of this situation is going to be all mine,” I apologize.

His happy expression leaves his face. Shaking his head, Drew quietly scolds, “Lesson number one: never apologize or criticize yourself. It’s the first rule of being more confident.” Drew lifts one hand from my waist and places it lightly under my chin, shifting my gaze up to his. “Also, I fear your view on your capabilities is utterly skewed. I might be the one who will need to work harder on my pleasure skills.”

 

review

Romantic. Charming. Adorably awkward. Those are a few reasons why you will quickly fall for Falling Slowly. It’s laugh out loud funny, has a swoon worthy hero, and leaves you wanting more. Literally.

Rosie Fisher isn’t the first person you’d notice in a crowded room. But she’s okay with that. She has a job she loves, great family and friends, and a favorite coffee shop that fuels her addiction. Hey, we all need some liquid life from time to time, right? Then one day she happens to run into Drew Nallen- he’s charismatic, outgoing, and has a smile that can make the most sturdy knees wobbly.

An unexpected friendship blossoms between the two, and the more Rosie is around Drew, and the more she gets to know him, she suddenly finds herself wishing she could be a bit more like him. More confident, more magnetic. The type of girl that can get a guy and keep him. Then just like that, she finds herself with a brilliant idea. If only she can get Drew to agree.

Drew doesn’t do relationships anymore. Instead, he settles for flings. Nice and simple. No complications. And what Rosie is asking him to do, well, it’s differently considered complicated.

I have to get this out of the way- if you think you know exactly how this story is going to play out, think again. Shirl Rickman has a way of throwing in some twists and turns.

Okay, now that we have that out of the way, I love the relationship between Drew and Rosie. The friendship that slowly forms between the two of them feels genuine. There is no insta-love, it definitely starts off a slow burner. That said, there is some undeniable chemistry between the two, and some pretty steamy scenes.

I really like how much I was able to relate to Rosie. She’s quirky and fun. At times a little hard on herself. While I really like Drew, it was a tad easier to bond with Rosie since it is in her POV.

The writing is great, the flow perfect. There is a very lovable cast of secondary characters. It’s fresh, fun, and flirty. Well, awkwardly flirty. 😛  Since it’s a novella, it’s a fast read, but doesn’t feel rushed at all.

However, I do have a bone to pick with Shirl- while there is no huge cliffhanger, you do have to wait until the next book in the series to find out what happens with Drew and Rosie. That’s right- we don’t get all the answers in Falling Slowly.

I’ve been a fan of Shirl’s since I read her debut novel, and I have to say she never disappoints. I love how much heart and soul her books have. So wither you have read her books before or she is a new author to you- one click this baby!

Find Falling Slowly here:

Amazon | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | B&N | Kobo | iTunes | Goodreads

ATAs

Shirl Rickman is a writer, a dreamer, and an optimist. A small town Texas girl currently residing in the San Francisco Bay Area, Shirl adores her husband, daughter, and two crazy dogs. When she’s not dreaming up new love stories, Shirl can be found reading, drinking her favorite coffee, Kona Blend with coconut milk. She loves kindness, laughing and meeting her readers.

Stalk Shirl

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Amazon

giveaway

Want a SIGNED copy of Falling Slowly AND a $5 Amazon Gift card?

ENTER HERE!

Leave a Reply

