Things Liars Fake by Sara Ney

tlf

Author: Sara Ney

Rating: 5 stars

Release Date: February 2nd, 2016

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

Blurb:

What if…

Someone you barely knew asked you for a favor.

What if…

They needed you to be something you weren’t, in exchange for nothing. Unless you count a mouth full of lies and a half-broken heart. Faker. Pretender. Liar. There are worse things to be called.

So would you do it? Would you?

Daphne Winthrop did.

And you’re about to find out what happens in the end.


Things Liars Fake is the final book in the #ThreeLittleLies novella series, and wow, talk about going out with a bang. This book is charming, nerdy, and sexy- with a build up that defines what sexual tension is all about. Things Liars Fake pulled me in from the moment I started, and I think I looked away from my kindle three times the entire time I was reading it. It’s that captivating- there is no skipping a head with this book. This fast, flirty read will keep you warm on these cold nights.

I have to admit, sometimes I don’t connect well with characters in a novella.  It has to due with the shorter length of the book, and how much the author is trying to make happen. Sometimes the characters just don’t come to life. That isn’t the case with this series and definitely didn’t happen with this book. Sara Ney’s writing was so good, so on point, that from the very first chapter I was looking through the eyes of Daphne and Dexter. Daphne is beautiful, outgoing, intelligent and has this inner dorky side that she isn’t afraid to let shine through.

Then there is Dexter. Lately in books, the male leads tend to be cocky, charming player types. Don’t get me wrong- I admittingly love those characters, but sometimes I want a nice guy. One you can love from the start, before they overcome their playboy ways. Good guys have this rep of being boring, safe even. Yeah, that isn’t the case with Dexter. Okay, so he is nice, thoughtful and nerdy- but there is nothing about this guy that is boring. There are a few scenes that prove this, and trust me when I say they will make your temperature rise a few degrees. In fact, Dexter is so swoon worthy, I feel that Sara Ney will be single handily providing this big let down in the female population when they start to compare Dexter to guys in real life.

Even though Daphne and Dexter start things off with a lie, there is nothing fake about how perfect they are for each other. It’s not insta-love but they do have a case of serious insta-attraction. Of course, it’s never that easy, and it is a bit of a slow burn, but it’s SO good. I could feel their sexual tension radiating off the page. Er, screen? I love all the little things that Dexter says and does that shows how considerate he is of Daphne. I can’t even lie, it tugged at my heart strings. You also get to meet Dex’s family- they are loud, step over boundaries and meddle in his business- and I love them. Well, most of them. Of course you see some familiar faces in the form of Greyson and Calvin (Things Liars Say) and Tabitha and Collin (Things Liars Hide). I loved being able to see what they are up to!

One of my favorite things about this book is how strongly the voices of Daphne and Dexter came through. You can tell Sara Ney was having a good time writing this, because it shows in the work. There has never been a time while reading any of the books in this series where I stopped and thought about how they remind me of another book. They all have such fresh, witty story-lines to them.

So if you’re looking for a book where nerdy is oh so sexy- read this book. If you’re looking for a book with a swoony guy and steamy scenes- read this book. If you want a book that will make you laugh and smile- yep, read this book. The only thing I didn’t like about this book was it was the last one in the series. I’m sorry to see it end, but I’m looking forward to what Sara releases next. Which won’t be soon enough!

Purchase Things Liars Fake

(I will post links when it goes live)

Find it on Goodreads.

tlfdex

tlfdaphne

One thought on “Things Liars Fake by Sara Ney

Leave a Reply

