The Score by Elle Kennedy

score

Rating: 5 Stars

Author: Elle Kennedy

Release Date: January 11th, 2016

ARC received in exchange for an honest review. 

Blurb:

He knows how to score, on and off the ice

Allie Hayes is in crisis mode. With graduation looming, she still doesn’t have the first clue about what she’s going to do after college. To make matters worse, she’s nursing a broken heart thanks to the end of her longtime relationship. Wild rebound sex is definitely not the solution to her problems, but gorgeous hockey star Dean Di-Laurentis is impossible to resist. Just once, though, because even if her future is uncertain, it sure as heck won’t include the king of one-night stands.

It’ll take more than flashy moves to win her over

Dean always gets what he wants. Girls, grades, girls, recognition, girls…he’s a ladies man, all right, and he’s yet to meet a woman who’s immune to his charms. Until Allie. For one night, the feisty blonde rocked his entire world—and now she wants to be friends? Nope. It’s not over until he says it’s over. Dean is in full-on pursuit, but when life-rocking changes strike, he starts to wonder if maybe it’s time to stop focusing on scoring…and shoot for love.


If The Score was a song, I’d keep it on repeat. Wow. I’m almost speechless about this book, which is ironic since I want to scream from the rooftop how incredible it was. It had the fun banter and was sexy like I expected, but it was also moving, bittersweet and brought me to tears.

Let’s start with Dean. I didn’t think it would be possible for me to love someone as much as Garrett, but Dean sure as hell made his case. He is cocky, surprisingly romantic, and an utterly charming dirty little talker. He also has a bigger heart than most people give him credit for. Elle Kennedy portrays the male point of view flawlessly.

I was so excited when I first heard Allie would be the heroine in this book, because I loved her in The Deal. After getting to know her more in The Score, those feelings only grew. She is spunky, a great friend, and like myself, she often thinks with her heart instead of her brain.

Allie and Dean are opposites when it comes to most things, but oh my god do they mesh well together. To everyone who was disappointed when they found out his love interest is Allie: Their friendship and relationship is everything. Seriously, they made me ‘aw’ out loud, smile like an idiot and have my heart basically beat out of my chest. Realistically, they have some bumps in the road, but they chemistry between them is hard to ignore. If you are into sexual tension and steamy scenes, you will really enjoy this book!

While this book is fun, hilarious and sexy, Elle Kennedy threw a curve ball and made me cry. Yep, I had actual tears streaming down my face, that I had to blot away with a tissue. I’m not going to touch more on this since I don’t want to spoil anything, but be prepared.

For those that follow the off-campus series, you will see some familiar faces- Hannah & Garrett (The Deal), Grace & Logan (The Mistake) and of course the lovable Tucker.

The Score will take you on an emotional roller-coaster and you will love every second of it.

Pre-Order The Score

Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Find it on Goodreads!

thescoreteaser

Leave a Reply

