Author Spotlight- Sara Ney

sna

 

Sara Ney is one of those authors that always delivers each and every time she writes a book. No other author has me laughing through out the book quite like Sara does, thanks to her witty humor and fabulous one liners. Her female characters are always strong, and I love that I can find myself in everyone of them. Her books are always lighthearted, filled with little romantic moments, and have the right amount of drama in them. I love her writing style, and the way she brings the main characters and all their friends to life. If you have never read one of her books it’s time to start. I have been a fan for a while now, and I can honestly say her books keep getting better and better!

 

The Kiss and Make Up Series:

 

#ThreeLittleLies Novella Series:

 

 

Sara was gracious and let me do a Q&A with her! 🙂 Enjoy!

 

Which of the female characters is the most like yourself?

SN: Jenna, the obnoxious friend who appears in my first three books. Or so I’ve been told by those who know me, LOL. I’m very outgoing, but not as inappropriate. I like writing her because she says exactly what I’m thinking.

Have you ever made a character do/say something that you regret looking back at it now? Or maybe something you wish a character would’ve done/said?

SN: I think I probably wouldn’t have waited so long for Cecelia and Matthew (He Kissed Me First) to kiss because WHY DID THEY WAIT SO DAMN LONG? Ugh, I never would have done that. I would have let the bastard kiss me. Why wait?

As much as I love the relationships between your characters, I also adore the friendships shown, especially between the females. Are their close bonds something you made sure to portray?

SN: Side characters are my favorite; they make a Main character complete. I’d like to think we all have a wacky group of misfit friends who complete us too. “The Loud One,” “The One Who Likes To Hug,” or “The Friend Who’s ALWAYS LATE.” I adore awkward people, and am very forgiving when they screw up [most of the time]. They make a story whole.

The Three Little Lies series is such an original concept- how did you come up with it?

SN: I am in love with the idea of romantic clichés; brothers best friend… unrequited love…. childhood crush…. fake boyfriend…. The day I turned A Kiss Like This over to my formatter, I started pounding out Things Liars Say. I knew I wanted it to be a cliché–and immediately thought a mistaken identity could be romantic and flirty, but I also knew I didn’t want it to drag on and on. That’s why Things Liars Say is a novella and not full length. Things Liars Hide isn’t as cliché as the first, but Book 3 definitely is!

Your male characters are often charming assholes*, the perfect blend, making them feel very realistic. Are any of them based off anyone you’ve dated or known?

*I am using the term assholes loosely. They are sweet, romantic and loyal, but have their male moments, which makes them all the more realistic. This isn’t an insult!

SN: I spend a lot of time observing people, and I’ve mentioned in my bio that I’m an adviser for a university organization, which puts me in direct contact with the Cal’s, Matthew’s, Cubby’s and Weston’s of the world on a regular basis. This is why my females are so bold (for the most part). Young woman these days shouldn’t settle for some of the behaviors I see from collegiate men, and I think readers have noticed I’m very much into empowering females. So while they’re not based on any one specific person, they are my interpretation of how guys are. How they act and talk.

Can you give away anything on the Kiss and Make up book four?

SN: I definitely have a concept for it, and parts are it have already been written but when it will be published is a grey area. I’ve titled it ONE LAST KISS and it will be Jenna’s story… as well as an epilogue of sorts: you’ll find out what happens to everyone from the previous books. Happily the Ever Afters? We shall see….

You are on the last book for both the Three Little Lies and Kiss and Make up series, do you have any other series/books in mind for when they are finished?

SN: Believe it or not, I do have an outline for another book; a standalone (but let’s be honest, the first books in both my series were supposed to be standalone’s, so maybe I’m not the person to ask). All I know it that it will probably involve some ice cream, a sister, an alpha male, and some awkward staring from across a grocery store.

I know you are working with M.E Carter on Friend Trip, but if you could collaborate with any author, who would it be?

SN: I don’t have a clue how to answer this question without rattling off a long list *stares off in the direction of my bookshelf* Elle Kennedy. I’ve also long admired Jane Green. I love Cindy Miles. S Walden is flawless, I think she could make me a better writer. This question is the worst–I want to list everyone I admire. Colleen Hoover. Jen Frederick. DAMMIT. Everyone.

Thanks again Sara for your time!

giveaway

I will be giving away an ebook of your choice by Sara Ney! Entering is easy:

  1. Like my Facebook page.
  2. Like & Comment on the post regarding this contest.
2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight- Sara Ney

Leave a Reply

