Bounce by Noelle August

bounce

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Author: Noelle August (Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger)

Release date: August 25th, 2015

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

Wow, wow, wow. I have been waiting for a while now to read this book (pretty much since I finished Rebound) and was slightly concerned I was building up the anticipation too much, and might be a bit let down when I finally read it. Now that I have read it, I can say with certainty- that did not happen. In fact, it was so much better than any idea I had crafted up in my own mind.

Bounce is the third book in the Boomerang series, following behind Boomerang and Rebound, and the only thing disappointing about this book is the fact it will be the last one in the series. Though I try to forget about that little fact.

When nineteen year old Grey Blackwood throws a party that ends up causing serious damage to his brother Adam’s house, Adam makes Grey work for him on his newest film project to help payback the cost of the repairs. Grey doesn’t work willingly, as he would rather spend his time with his band, trying to make it big. That changes when he meets twenty-two year old Skyler Canby, a girl with pink hair who is on her first audition, and who knows more about playing the cello than acting. When Grey has to stand in for the male lead and read lines with Skyler, their chemistry is UNDENIABLE and it leads to a kiss so steamy, it couldn’t possibly be acting.

Despite the fact they are clearly attracted to each other, Skyler decides it can’t go anywhere, since Grey is younger than her, and has a bit of growing up to do. Just like Grey, I wasn’t too pleased with that decision, but the friendship they form is sweet, supportive, and sometimes crosses the line. I have to admit I was yelling at Skyler sometimes, because when Grey wasn’t acting so tough, he was caring, thoughtful and downright adorable. I mean, the guy may or may not have wrote a song for her. Or two.

While Grey and Sky are both doing other means of work to pay the bills, they are both musicians at heart, and that is only part of the bond that grows between them. They are also stubborn, a bit closed off, as they are used to holding in their emotions, and are dealing with family issues that weigh heavily on them.

The thing I love most about them is the fact that they are there for each other. No ifs, ands, or buts. Even though they may butt heads, fight and mess up at times, they can’t deny that they care deeply for one another. It completely melted my heart and I’m pretty sure I was grinning throughout most of the book. Thankfully, there are some more steamy moments in the book- and I mean steamy!

I also loved that we get to see Mia & Ethan and Adam & Ali again. Since Adam is Grey’s brother, he has a pretty big role in this book, and I loved seeing more of their relationship. Though strained at times, they always have each other backs, and the amount of love they have for each other causes so many feelings.

This is a great summer read- humorous, steamy and heartwarming. I’m anxious to see what Veronica and Lorin do next, and I’m hoping this isn’t the last time they pair up together!!

For more information on Bounce, check it out on Goodreads and you can find it on Amazon and Barnes & Noble. It will be released August 25th, 2015.

One thought on “Bounce by Noelle August

Leave a Reply

